The Hawking Fellowship - 2021

Recipient of the 2021 Professor Hawking Fellowship: Dr Katalin Karikó

The Professor Hawking Fellowship was founded by the Cambridge Union Society in 2017 and named in honour of Professor Stephen Hawking. The Fellowship recognises Professor Hawking’s contribution to Cambridge in a number of ways, particularly to academia and the awareness of disability rights. Professor Hawking delivered the Inaugural Fellowship Lecture on 23rd November 2017. Sadly, this was to be one of his last public appearances. The Fellowship is awarded to an individual who is distinguished in the STEM fields and who has made a historic and/or significant contribution to social discourse in the STEM fields.

The Professor Hawking Fellowship Committee is delighted to announce that Dr Katalin Karikó is the recipient of the 2021 Professor Hawking Fellowship. Dr Katalin Karikó delivered her Fellowship lecture on the 1st November 2021. A recording of the lecture is available on our YouTube channel.

The Cambridge Union Society is grateful for The Phoenix Partnership’s ( generous support of the Professor Hawking Fellowship.

Fellowship media enquiries should be directed to